Six Labour Heroes – We Name The Labour Zeros

Email this

Two weeks ago James Wharton’s Private Members Bill, which aims to finally give the Great British Public their say on our membership of the EU, moved a step closer to becoming law as it gained its Second Reading in the House of Commons. It was widely reported and commented on that the vote was won 308 votes to none. In other words, not one single MP had dared to be seen voting against the Bill, even though many had stood up to argue against it in the debate.

The Conservatives and DUP turned out in force to vote for the Bill, but we should particularly acknowledge the six Labour MPs who defied party orders to abstain and honourably voted to give the British people a referendum. They were:

  1. Roger Godsiff, Birmingham
  2. Kate Hoey, Vauxhall
  3. Kelvin Hopkins, Luton North
  4. Dennis Skinner, Bolsover
  5. Graham Stringer, Blackley & Broughton
  6. Gisela Stuart, Birmingham, Edgbaston

That wasn’t the only vote on the Bill, however. Immediately beforehand was another vote that was just as critical: the closure motion. Without a successful closure motion, the debate could have been kept going until the end of that day’s session without the vital Second Reading vote ever taking place, whereupon the Bill would have been lost. The Bill would have been ‘talked out’.

So it was essential that a closure motion be brought forward and passed. Yet 32 MPs, all Labour, voted against the closure motion and, in effect, to allow the Bill to be talked out.

  1. Diane Abbott, Hackney North & Stoke Newington
  2. Douglas Alexander, Paisley & Renfrewshire South
  3. Heidi Alexander, Lewisham East
  4. Jonathan Ashworth, Leicester South
  5. William Bain, Glasgow North East
  6. Luciana Berger, Liverpool, Wavertree
  7. Lyn Brown, West Ham
  8. Alan Campbell, Tynemouth
  9. Wayne David, Caerphilly
  10. Thomas Docherty, Dunfermline & West Fife
  11. Jim Dowd, Lewisham West & Penge
  12. Michael Dugher, Barnsley East
  13. Jim Fitzpatrick, Poplar & Limehouse
  14. Mike Gapes, Ilford South
  15. Meg Hillier, Hackney South & Shoreditch
  16. Julie Hilling, Bolton West
  17. Huw Irranca-Davies, Ogmore
  18. Graham Jones, Hyndburn
  19. Susan Elan Jones, Clwyd South
  20. David Lammy, Tottenham
  21. Ian Lucas, Wrexham
  22. Kerry McCarthy, Bristol East
  23. Andrew Miller, Ellesmere Port & Neston
  24. Stephen Pound, Ealing North
  25. Emma Reynolds, Wolverhampton North East
  26. Nick Smith, Blaenau Gwent
  27. Mark Tami, Alyn & Deeside
  28. Stephen Timms, East Ham
  29. Karl Turner, Kingston upon Hull East
  30. Chris Williamson, Derby North
  31. Phil Wilson, Sedgefield
  32. Rosie Winterton, Doncaster Central

If your MP is among those listed above, please contact them and ask why they tried to sabotage the EU Referendum Bill. Please do send us a copy of the response you receive. You can use your postcode to find out who your MP is.

Email this
%d bloggers like this: